|Object ID #||BULL.012.001|
|Title||12 Bull Street (Hugh P. Cameron House)|
|Object Type||Property File|
|Scope & Content||
Constructed ca. 1851; altered 1890s. Separated from the Blacklock House property in 1849 and purchased by the architect Edward B. White, the lot subsequently became the property of Hugh P. Cameron, a King Street crockery merchant. The 3-story house is constructed of Charleston-made brick laid in a Flemish bond with stone lintels above its principal front windows and is faced by a double-tiered piazza. Late-Victorian and Colonial Revival changes made to the house after its acquisition in 1892 by David Benchner include the masonry piers and coping as well as the front gate, with his cast-iron initials. Other changes include the Colonial Revival French doors on the front windows, probably replacing Greek Revival triple sash, and substantial interior changes such as a Minton-style floor in the entry hall. Used at various times for several different programs at the College of Charleston, it currently houses the college's program in historic preservation.
File contains house history from Information for Guides of Historic Charleston (1984); house history from City of Charleston Tour Guide Training Manual (2011); SCDAH architectural survey form; newspaper articles (including 1972 DYKYC); house history from Gems in a Crown; copy of photograph of the house.
Historic buildings--South Carolina--Charleston
College of Charleston--Buildings
|Physical Description||1 File Folder|
|Related Records||Show Related Records...|