|Title||43-47 Broad Street (Plenge Haberdashery)|
|Object Type||Property File|
|Scope & Content||
Constructed ca. 1855; renovated ca. 1870. Although built in the antebellum period as the shop of the saddler and harness makers Charles Love and Conrad M. Wienges, this large structure was thoroughly altered in about 1870 by its subsequent owner, haberdasher Charles Plenge, with the addition of a pressed tin cornice and Italianate facade treatments in stucco. One of the enduring characteristics of the building is the late-19th century painting, The Hatter, on the west facade that formerly served as signage and a popular trademark. William Waller, a saddler, built the structure next door at 41 Broad Street. A subsequent owner added a new facade to this building with an Italianate cornice and window head within a few years after the War Between the States.
File contains brief building history from Information for Guides of Historic Charleston; photocopy of image and advertisement (City Directory?); typed title research notes (staff) dated 1969; copy of advertisement (illustrated) from "Resources & Attractions of Charleston" (ca. 1898); newspaper article about the "Hat Man" (2012); Rosen and Associates (engineers) inspection report for 45 Broad Street (1990) and reports for 43, 45, 47 Broad Street (2007).
No image of building on file.
|Subjects||Historic buildings--South Carolina--Charleston|
|Physical Description||1 File Folder|
|Related Records||Show Related Records...|
|Object ID #||BROAD.043-47.001|